Organised by
The Joint Telematics Group of the IITs/IISc

Held at
Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur
28 - 30 January, 2005



The National Conference on Communications has become a well established annual conference. This conference, which is organised by the Joint Telematics group of IITs & IISc, aims to exchange and stimulate, in India, research in communication and allied areas. It particularly tries to provide a regular platform for professionals in the industry and researchers in academic institutions to discuss and publish their current research works.

This year the conference is held in Kharagpur during January 28-30, 2005, and in keeping with the trend, there has been a great and enthusiastic response. We have included around 130 technical papers from all over the country in areas like Telecommunications, Signal Processing, Coding, Networking, Security, Optical Communications and Wireless Communications.

We would like to thank all the authors for their interest and effort. This is irrespective of whether or not the papers are presented in the conference or published in the Proceedings. All the contributed papers have been reviewed by experts and we would like to thank the reviewers for their time and effort. The papers in this Proceedings are directly taken from the camera ready copy received from the authors. This conference also has six Pre-Conference tutorials. These tutorials are (1). AdHoc and Sensor Networks ( AdSEN ), Prof.. Saswat Chakrabarti, IIT, Kharagpur, (2). The IEEE 802.16x - A Wireless Last Mile Solution, Prof. R.V. Raja Kumar, IIT, Kharagpur, (3). Universal Source Coding and Data Compression, Prof. R. K. Bansal, IIT Kanpur, (4). Low-density Parity-check Codes: Achieving Capacity in Practice, Prof. Andrew Thangaraj, IIT Madras, (5). Multiuser Detection in CDMA, Prof. A. Chockalingam, IISc. Bangalore and (6). RFID Sensor Networks and Applications, Prof. Sridhar Iyer, IIT Bombay.

These tutorials have received a good response from interested persons who range from under graduate students to professors, besides people from Industries. We would like to record our thanks to all the members of the Advisory Committee, Steering Committee and the Programme Committee for the inspiration, advice and other help they have given us in making this conference successful. Special thanks are due to Prof. S.K. Dube, Director IIT Kharagpur who is the Patron of the Conference and also the Chairman of the Advisory Committee. Special thanks are to be given to Prof. V. Sinha Director, LNM Institute of Information Technology, Jaipur who is the Co-chairman of the Advisory Committee. The General Chairman of the Conference, Prof. R. Gangopadhyay, Head, Dept. of Electronics & Electrical Communication Engineering, IIT Kharagpur is also specially thanked for providing all help and support. Prof. S.L Maskara has consistently been inspiring us in organising this conference. We are thankful to him for his valuable suggestions.

No conference can be organised without the support of a large number of technical and ministrial staff and this conference is no exception. We would like to thank every one concerned for their efforts. In particular we would like to thank Mr. Robert Anthony, Mr Munna Pathak, Mr. Bimal Chakraborty and Miss. Bon Ami Sui. Finally we regret any inadvertent errors that might have occurred.

T.S. Lamba
P.K. Biswas
S.S. Pathak


Session 1 : Invited Lectures

Session 2 : Mobile Networks

Session 3 : Optical Networks I

Session 4 : Wireless Networks

Session 5 : 802.11, 802.16 Based Wireless Networks

Session 6 : Optical Networks II

Session 7 : Networking I

Session 8 : Networking II

Session 9 : Speech Coding & Processing

Session 10 : Video Coding

Session 11 : Image Processing

Session 12 : Modulation and Synchronization

Session 13 : Filtering and Equalization

Session 14 : Signal Theory I

Session 15 : Signal Theory II

Session 16 : Coding Techniques

Session 17 : Mobile Communication

Session 18 : Security

Session 19 : RF & Antenna

Session 20 : Multi Disciplinary